Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Total Newb: LED Display

Status
Not open for further replies.

Q__Hybrid

Hey there kids,

here's the deal: I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing. I can marginally read a circuit, as in I can understand interconnections and can recognize several symbols, but I probably won't know why anything is placed where it is. Pretty bleak, eh?

My idea is not very original in the fact that its architecture is a grayscale LED display. I need someone to walk me through the entire process so I don't get lost or have a terrible accident. (Please oh please god, somebody agree to commit to this!)

Concept: "Illuminated Human"
This is quite ambitious and stands as a true challenge. If it helps persuade someone with serious skill to sign-on, it'll probably be very quick and simple to design and build. Heads up: it requires multiple ICs.

This concept utilizes an LED matrix of an indeterminate size (one diode per square 0.5"). In its final form, the LED matrix is applied to or embedded within a garment of clothing. I have chosen to make a coat as the prototype's fashionable debut. The simplest explanation is as follows: