Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

To switch off or not to?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PapWiel

I’m no electrician, but I do know a thing or two about electricity

I’m from South Africa, where we are currently experiencing a major power (electricity) shortage. The whole country is under a load-shedding schedule where regions are switched off from the grid from 2-4 hours at a time, and then from once a week to daily.

I’ve noticed in Johannesburg that many of the big corporate buildings leave their florescent lights on during the night (when all is suppose to be sleeping.) I’ve heard the story that it consumes more power switching a whole buildings light on, than it is to run it continuously. Surely that’s a load of Bull?

Is there perhaps a sparky on the forum that can shed more light on this “Myth” or shall I get “Myth busters” to clarify this one? 

On the same subject. What about 1kw single phase motors? It’s also rumored that they should be left running for 8 hours rather than starting them every 30 minutes and leave it running for 5 minutes. We’ve always been told that in order to save power, you won’t keep a kettle running, you’d rather just switch it on as required.

PapWiel said:
I’ve heard the story that it consumes more power switching a whole buildings light on, than it is to run it continuously. Surely that’s a load of Bull?