Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

to many lines of code :| Sheit...

Status
Not open for further replies.

ManTic

Hey :)

I'm rather new with PICs and C, and I just found out that the program I wrote for my PIC16F877 is about 10-12kb big (depending of the amount of writing I do to the LCD)... And the PIC can only hold 8kb

I am using SourceBoost's C++ compiler...

Some of my methods aren't that clever, because the compiler has some limitations (compared to some code i saw compiled with IAR's C compiler - sourceBoost couldn't compile that...)

Any great ideas? :)

ManTic said:
Hey :)

I'm rather new with PICs and C, and I just found out that the program I wrote for my PIC16F877 is about 10-12kb big (depending of the amount of writing I do to the LCD)... And the PIC can only hold 8kb

I am using SourceBoost's C++ compiler...

Some of my methods aren't that clever, because the compiler has some limitations (compared to some code i saw compiled with IAR's C compiler - sourceBoost couldn't compile that...)

Any great ideas? :)

You need to write your program more efficiently, probably your first task is to find out what's using the most memory. 10K of generated PIC code is a HUGE program!.

But any high level compiler is likely to generate much longer code than assembler, but even if you write in assembler you have the problems of page switching.