Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Tips for a beginner?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Immortalacorn

I'm new to electronics, only a few weeks in, and electronics is already the hardest thing I have ever tried to learn. It seems all the things I read just don't fit together. I'm afraid to go any further in electronics because every time I do, I come across something totally new that just doesn't relate to what I learned in the past. I was reading up on inductor and it completely destroyed my understanding of how current works(I seem to come across this problem with every new component I learn). So I was wondering if any electronics veterans had any tips or book they could recommend to help me better understand the working of electronics.

Forrest Mims III has written some VERY good books.

Two that I consider 'required reading' are the Engineers Mini Notebook Volumes 1 and 4.

They will help you out. You will still use them 10 years from now.
FORREST MIMS GETTING STARTED IN ELECTRONICS | BOOKS | ELECTRONICS | SCIENCE FAIR PROJECTS

Also a good eBook is:

There is standard reading, worksheets, videos, interactives, and a forum if you have questions on the books contents.. or anything else.

And Obviously THIS website/forum Electro-Tech-Online ;)

For capacitors and inductors, the following will help your understanding, I hope:

caps: The voltage across a capacitor CANNOT change instantaneously.

inductors: The current through an inductor CANNOT change instantaneously.