Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Timed garage door switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

lesmilton1951

Hi all
I am new to the world of electronic I have joined this forum to tap into its wealth of experienced users.
The project I would like some advice on is a timed switch to open my garage door opener at a time in the morning and close at a time in the evening.
The door can be opened manually by a door bell type button push once to open then push once to close I would like a circuit that would utilise this, using an AC digital timer with a socket would seam to be the most convenient way of timing the switching, plugging a suitable transformer the power supplied could be a low DC say 3v the part I need help with is a simple circuit to
PUSH MY BUTTON:D
Any help-Advice would be great fully received.
Thanks for looking
Les.

Welcome to the forum, Les.
I must say you're a trusting individual and obviously live in a low crime area if you want a setup which opens the door in the morning, leaves it open all day and then only closes it in the evening :).
It would help us to know what voltage is already present across the manual button of the door opener.
And did you mean the simulated button will be something which plugs into the "AC digital timer with a socket" ?
Do you already have the timer?
Plug-in timers are readily available cheaply for closing a switch twice a day (e.g. for domestic central-heating) with a time resolution of 15 mins. Wouldn't one of those do?

Hi alic_t