Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Things that go pooof/pop

Status
Not open for further replies.
Along the lines of popping electrolytics. When I was a graduate student, I took a power electronics class which had a lab component. In the lab part one of the early projects was to build a buck converter. Rather than write your name on it though, you were to put an assigned number. Then the professor would randomly reassign projects. So now you had somebody elses (and you didn't know who) and some third person had yours. Then you had to debug their circuit and modify it (first to a boost, then you exchanged again and modified it to a buck-boost). In any case, one person mounted the cap backwards, but it managed to work (at least to some extent) for the few days they modified the project. But when the next person got the project, as they were working on it, the cap went off like a shotgun. It was *loud*, though the ensuing laughter was even louder.

It is, a high voltage current limited source (like the 25-30KV in a TV), doesn't have enough current to harm you, and it's why earth leakage trips (GFI's) trip out when a specific current leaking to ground occurs.

thats wut i thought!! (am i igniting a theory discussion here?)

wanna pop a capacitor the most idiotic way?

do this:

step 1: take a refrigerator and snip the plug wire.
step 2: remove about 1/2 inch insulation at the end you cut. this end must be able to plug into the wall.