Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

The output of Op-Amp[LM324] has error as non-inverting Amp

Status
Not open for further replies.

booboo1

Hi everybody
I'm a newbie and working on LM324 to learn Op-Amp. this is my circuit:

**broken link removed**

One of the resistors is 217ohm and another 978ohm. then the gain should be 4.50691 as you can see. so far so good. I know this is for ideal Op-Amp. I applied 0.15v to the input and got 0.94v in the output. then the gain is 6.26667. again I applied 0.35v to the input and got 2.03v then gain should be 5.8!?o_O
again I applied 1.86v and got 10.31 then the gain is 5.54301!:confused: holy crap! why isn't the gain stable? because of input offset voltage? How can I stabilize it?

Try drawing a graph of Input Volts vs Output Volts, is it linear?

Consider that you may have the wrong expression for the the gain. Gain = 1+ R2/R1 may give better results.

JimB

Try scaling up your values x10 to x1000 and try again

Last edited:
The gain is 1+R2/R1 ~ 5.5
Input offset voltage is max. 5mV and it could explain the results.

The gain is 1+R2/R1 ~ 5.5
Input offset voltage is max. 5mV and it could explain the results.
5mV * Av only explains an error of 5.5*5mV= 27.5mV error which on 1V out is only 2.7%

You should increase the resistor values to that their sum is at least 2kΩ.

Try drawing a graph of Input Volts vs Output Volts, is it linear?

Consider that you may have the wrong expression for the the gain. Gain = 1+ R2/R1 may give better results.

JimB