Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Temperature probe - how to wire it up?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Quantised

I have a platinum wire wound temperature probe that is 8mm long and also the wires are about 15mm long. As it is designed to go up to 800C then how does one connect it to wiring to go to the circuit.

I have never used one of these before so it is all new to me, if any one has a simple conditioning circuit it would be much appreciated.

The project is to measure the exhaust temperature from a 6 cyl 6 litre engine for monitoring purposes.

Thanks

Q

First I would start here for a good overview and determine exactly what you have and what you want from it. If you want to measure EGT (Exhaust Gast Temperature) will you be using a compression fitting to embed your element directly into the hot gas flow at the exhaust manifiold?

The diameter of your probe should give an indication of the wire gauge used within. That is important to avoid self heating from the current passed through the probe. You need to read and understand the link. Especially things like a 3 or 4 wire measurment plane?

Guessing pt100 probe? The resistance at 32 F or 0 C should be 100.00Ω assuming a pt100 probe using platinum.

Ron

Thanks Ron - I had a read up from your link and then found some others.