Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

temperature controlled hotplate

Status
Not open for further replies.

redeadnixon

Okay, just out of curiosity was thinking of building my own hot plate,
(I'm a chemist so it's not the sort used in restaurants),
I was thinking of using a variable resistor to control temp, with a thermocouple connected to the mains;
First of all, I'm not an expert in electronics, I did circuits in high school physics, thats about it.
And the temperature would need to go up to <200C.
I know where to get all the parts, but was wondering whether it would be feasible to just use a couple of strong resistors on the power source, or whether more complex circuitry would be involved.
If so, could someone post ideas for circuits?
Thanks, peace out.

Depending on the desired accuracy here is a suggestion.

You might also think about using a microcontroller where you can use tendency recognition to avoid temperature overshoots.

Boncuk

Attachments

• HOTPLATE..gif
    HOTPLATE..gif
    10.3 KB · Views: 378
You could just use a thermistor, if you can find one with a high enough temperature rating.

Then the circuit becomes as simple as a comparator, a few resistors and a relay.
LM311 Light/dark detector/thermostat

More on comparators:
**broken link removed**

You could just use a thermistor, if you can find one with a high enough temperature rating.

Then the circuit becomes as simple as a comparator, a few resistors and a relay.