Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Temperature control circuit for a complete beginner...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Agent57

Hi folks,

I have no electronics experience but I'm hoping that someone can point me in the right direction here.

My problem is that I have a cabinet in which I need to maintain a reasonably constant temperature, between about 25 and 30 degrees Celsius. I've been searching the web for a ready made solution without any luck and then came up with the following crazy idea.

My plan is to use a peltier, sandwiched between two heat sinks. One of the heat sinks will be fitted into a casing so that a couple of fans can vent either warm or cold air into the cabinet whenever the internal temperature goes either side of the desired range. The other heat sink would be kept external with another fan attached to regulate the unit's temperature on the outside of the cabinet.

I've no idea whether this will actually do the job, but I don't have any better ideas at the moment, and where I'm really struggling right now is the design of the control circuit.

So, I've been looking into building a circuit using a thermistor, with a couple of potentiometers to adjust the min/max temperature limits, such that if the cabinet gets too warm the peltier will be powered with +/- set in one direction to cool the air flowing in, or if it drops too low then the polarity on the peltier power supply should be reversed so that the airflow is then being heated.