Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Switching motor direction using 2 seperate momentary switchs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ninja bear

Hi All
I am a new member and a mechanical designer by trade so forgive my mechanical approach to electronics...
Basically i would like to be able to change the direction of a motor using 2 separate momentary switches instead of a 3 way switch.
The reason for the momentary switch encase your wondering is to move the motor in increments which is my next question: how can i guarantee the increments are the same if the momentary switch is pressed quickly or held for a delay?
I would greatly appreciate any help/direction
Thanks
Kev

Last edited:
There are several types of motors that are available. Can you provide more detail regarding your application? Is it possible to estimate the load torque that is required?
Why is the rotational increment important? What increment would be satisfactory ... or unsatisfactory?

A stepper motor controlled by a microprocessor, or perhaps a counter circuit, would allow a precise number of motor steps (and thus rotation increment) to be generated for each switch closure.

Basically i would like to be able to change the direction of a motor using 2 separate momentary switches instead of a 3 way switch.