Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Stupid Newbie, Circuit problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

zanes

Ok, so I'm a noob!

Firstly, on basic electronic project circuits, when I see (eg) +9v and an earth symbol on the sircuit, do I connect a nine volt cell positive end to the +9v connection, and the negative end of the cell to the earth?

Also, what do I do on the attached circuit, do I run 2 9v's in parallel, +9v to the positive end of the battery, -9v to the negative end, and earth to the join between the two cells?

Cheers!

PS. Copyright not owned by me for this circuit: Fair use, limited resolution screenshot for education.

And above the photo transistor the diagram reads "NC" I assume that means don't connect that connection to anything?

Attachments

• circuit.GIF
    circuit.GIF
    5.1 KB · Views: 208
Last edited:
zanes said:
Firstly, on basic electronic project circuits, when I see (eg) +9v and an earth symbol on the sircuit, do I connect a nine volt cell positive end to the +9v connection, and the negative end of the cell to the earth?
Yes.
Also, what do I do on the attached circuit, do I run 2 9v's in parallel, +9v to the positive end of the battery, -9v to the negative end, and earth to the join between the two cells?
I think you mean connect the 9V batteries in series and connect the earth to the point in between the two batteries.