Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

startup equipment

Status
Not open for further replies.

2Electrified

Hi Everyone,

I need some advice, I am looking to setup an electronic workbench at my home. I graduated back in 2000 with an associate degree in electronics, and at that time, I stayed in the telecommunications field, now I am looking to get back in the electronic field where I should have stayed - voltage and current is in my blood - LOL!

With my budget being somewhat limited, I need to know about the following equipment - what I can startup with without breaking the bank, but yet being able to troubleshoot and create circuits without running into problems where the equipment isnt capable of handling the necessary voltage, or current etc. Whats a good starting point.

1. Dual Variable power supply - how many volts and amps can I start with.
2. Oscilloscopes - what is a good starting point - bandwidth 50MHZ, 100MHZ, 200MHZ, etc. dual channel, triggering, etc.
3. Frequency counter
4. Function generator

I believe these are the basic necessities to start with. And if there are some other equipment I don't have listed, by all means mention them to me and I will take note of your input.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Lisa

Hi Lisa,

- power supply
the power output of the variable power supply depends on your intentions. If you want to drive high current stepper motors the output should suffice for that purpose.