Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

starting software programming

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dynamite

hiya everyone!

I'm new here and i hope you guys can help me out. i want to get started in programming but i dont know how?? i think i would like to do software instead of firmware because im not very good with electronics, lol. so if you have advice for me it would be appreciated and all, i was thinking of making a website for practice or something? i know there are alot of different languages out in the world, but what would be good for most software programming?

thanks, you all are the best! please remember that im a n00b, so dont work me too hard!

Dynamite - KA-BOOM! :D

Get a good hard cover book on "C". Study it follow everything through till u understand it and write a few simple programs. Then have a look at C++

Then go to Uni if u can . If not look around at whats the top language then and read everything you can get a hold of on it.

Last edited:
Firmware is embedded software such as in a cell phone. I think you meant you want to do software instead of hardware.

I said " C " first because it is not affiliated with anyone. Get ur start with it ,then if ur inclined to go to a microsoft pushed product you will have some basic knowledge to form a sound decision.

If you use a book it is best to find one that teaches C as your first language. Some books are written for people who already know how to program.