Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Starting off a new job

Status
Not open for further replies.

EngIntoHW

Hi,

I've been working so far for a very small hi-tech company as an hardware engineer (however, I'm still an electric engineering student).
It is my first job in hi-tech.

As some of you might know, the work routine in small companies is very unique:

Bad things:
- Very tensed work
- You got lots of responsibilities and things to take care of (which means less private time and many worries)
- Your personal desk is always messy as you get your hands dirty with many things (soldering circuits, testing boards, debugging modules, and so on)
- You find yourself stay up late occasionally

Good things:
- You are exposed to many technologies and get great experience in many different fields
- Lots of joking around with the guys
- You make a difference

I'm about to start off a new job in a very large company.
In my current job, I occupy a position of hardware and software development, and in my future job, I'll occupy a position of HW and SW verification, which is totally different.

I'd like to have your opinions about how should I professionally and socially behave in my new job, while taking into account that:
- I'm moving from my first job in a very small company to a very large company
- My position changes from HW and SW development to HW and SW verification