Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

starting Nigel's tutorial, have questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

charlie_r

Ok, so all of you know, I am a noob with pics. I am trying to figure out exactly what does what in .asm files. I am using MPLAB IDE, and am coming up with a few errors.

First Question: How does mplab determine line #s? Are blank lines included in the numbering sequence? Are comment lines included as well?

Second Question: Does anyone know where to find a listing and explanation of the error codes?

Here is the code, basically copied from the tut with my own comments to ensure that I am understanding what I am doing:

Code:
;*******************************************************************************
		;Tutorial 1.1 - Nigel Goodwin 2002
		;First try at writing code, basically copying nigels code, with my own
		;understanding of what is being done
		title "blink led"
		list p=16F628A
		#include "p16F628A.inc"

;************************** config bits *****************************************

__config 0x2118 

;************************** the program setup info ******************************

org	0x0000			;sets the program origin, where it starts from

movlw	0x07			;puts Literal value in Working register
	movwf	CMCON			;moves value in W register to CoMparator CONtrol
					;turning off comparators

bsf	STATUS,		RP0	;Bit Set File selecting bank 1
	movlw	b 00000000		;moves Binary number to Working Register
	movwf	TRISB			;sets port b to outputs-TRIState port B