Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Speedometer - questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Airmaster86

Hi,

Ive recently started with PIC microcontrollers, and now Im building/programming a digital speedometer using the PIC16F84A. Im new to the whole thing programming pics, so I got some questions. :)

I use C to program PICs as im familiar with C++.

I want to count the time for one revolution of the wheel then calculate the speed. As I want the PIC to jump directly to the "timing-function" when the signal goes high (from the wheel-sensor), I thought that I could use the Interrupt pin on the PIC. When the signal goes high again (one revolution later..) it will stop counting. The problem is that I do not know how to solve this, and if there is functions for rising edge and interrupts.

If there is someone that would like to help me I would be very happy and thankful. :)

Thanks,
Anders

Sweden

You can turn a high going signal into a low going signal with an inverter. Echoing Nigel's usual comment, "don't use the 16F84, use the 16F628A"

When using interrupts make sure that you can clear the interrupt condition when you are done with the interrupt service routine. If you don't or can't do this then when you execute the RETFIE instruction you will go right back to your interrupt routine.