Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Sound effects generation for art

Status
Not open for further replies.

missy_beauvois

I am an artist who builds sound and light effects into my paintings. Crickets, birds, bees and other buzz-sounding objects are all manageable for me using the beloved 555 timer. However, I would like to branch out into sound effects that can't be created with a square wave, for example:

-- Hoot owl (distant, resonant, low-frequency, hollow sound)
-- Buddhist or other monks chanting, aka, the sound of "OM" at many different, pleasing frequencies and yes the waveform needs to be rich and complex, like the human voice.

I am especially interested in the Creational Scale, which includes the following frequencies:

396 Hz (Do)
417 Hz (Re)
528 Hz (Mi)
639 Hz (Fa)
741 Hz (Sol)
852 Hz (La)

To make my request for help even more complex, I'd love to stick with low-cost, readily available parts and even better if they are single supply (since I power everything I make with a 12V DC wall wart). For output, I use 8 ohm speakers in the less than 5 dollar range (and sometimes I tile them to create a sound map of sorts).

I do not make musical instruments per se, but regions of the circuit that will control output are always appreciated -- I like to insert elements that make the effect reactive to the viewer, such as photoresistors.

Thanks so much for your expert advice on my sound quest!