Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Sonic screwdriver

Status
Not open for further replies.

JJNiles

hi I’m the new guy

I have some robotics experience from the old LEGO mindstorm 2.0, and the FIRST Robotics challenge, but have virtually no experience with building circuit boards from scratch.

I’m looking into building a 2005 Sonic Screwdriver prop from the sci-fi show Dr. Who. The 2005 Sonic Screwdriver is about 7 inches closed about 8 inches open and about 30/32" in diameter. It is controlled by two buttons to select the proper function and a third button for execution of the function, the screwdriver has 5 levels of brightness and has a motor to extend the head with the light, if I could have sound that would be cool. The display would be just 6 LEDs, 5 blue ones for the levels of brightness and one red for the motor.

I don't watch the show so I didn't know what a sonic screwdriver was. I went and found a few Youtube videos showing off several commercially built prop replicas. From what I can tell, it's basically a light pen where a portion of it extends/retracts and has a blue LED at one end.