Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Some IDEAS needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

ruzfactor

I need some ideas on my 3rd Year 1st semester project. I'm a student of mechanical engineering but I know that it's very tough to get pure mechanical projects for this semester. If it was final year then it was ok. So I need some ideas on electronics projects with some mechanical touch. Measurement, Not so complex robots project are appreciated. Help me out!

How about a place to start.
A while back I posted about a project that interfaced a inexpensive digital micrometer with a PIC. Maybe you could leverage that as part of a larger project. Should be easy to come up with one.

Is there any good project sites for simple robot with PC interfacing? Or any other project without MCU??

I don't see why it wouldn't work, it's simple enough but I'd replace the CD4096s with CD40106s which have schmitt trigger inputs.

I that the idea was you're suposed to design this yourself?

Any dummy could download a circuit from the Internet.

Also it uses four ICs which is alot, you could make it much more compact and cheaper by using a microcontroller or programmable logic IC.

What about learning how to program a chip to do this?

You could reference this circuit, comment on how complex it is and how you've made it much smaller by putting it all on to one IC.

Hi Ruzfactor,