Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Solenoids

Status
Not open for further replies.

sgpope

First, I'm REALLY new to electronics. I'm building a project that will run 6 solenoids (only 1 operating at a time). I'll be basing my schematic off the attached diagram, but my solenoids are 12v and have a maximum current of 450mA. The transistors I've got are PNP type (2N3906), rated at 350mW. Would these transistors be sufficient under these conditions? Also, are the ratings on the resistors in the diagram sufficient for my needs? How much leeway is there in the resistance values? For example, I've got 100k, 10k, 1k, and 330 ohm resistors. Would any combination of these be sufficient for what I'm doing?

Attachments

• circuit.JPG
    circuit.JPG
    19.4 KB · Views: 182
A few things. You mention a 2N3906 which is a PNP type transistor but only rated at a max current of about 200 mA. Not good! Also in your circuit the transistor is drawn as an NPN. The circuit would be fine as drawn using an NPN. I would use a common 2N2222 transistor (NPN) with your circuit.

Ron

Yes a 2N2222 is good for 800MA. You should look at the speck sheet to get your base resistor. Using combonashoins of your resistors you should get close enough to proto type.