Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Soldering issue...

Status
Not open for further replies.

polbit

Hi everyone, another newbie here!

I haven't used a soldering iron in 20 years, but suddenly I got an urge to start playing with electronics again. I bought a Hakko 936 iron, some nice 60/40 solder, etc., plus some educational kits to play with. Well, I got a hang of a regular solder join pretty fast, however I came across a kit where the board has a mix of normal and huge traces. One of the traces takes 1/4 of the board. And I can't seem to solder anything there. I heat up the board and the leg of a given part for 3-4 seconds, then apply solder, but unless I touch the solder tip itself with the solder, it doesn't want to melt, and it's just a big mess...

So, my question is - is there a trick to doing this right? Should I use a higher temperature? I have been using 600F, and it works fine for normal traces... I'm afraid of keeping the iron on longer, or using a much higher temp...

Thanks!

Generally it's not the tip temperature, although it is obviously important that the joint temperature is correct for the type of solder you are using.
I suspect that your problem lies with the tip size, if it is too small, i.e has too low mass or weight if you like, then the board will act as a heat sink for it and cool the joint to well below the optimum soldering temperature.