Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Solder iron question..

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone!
I'm new to electronics and only bought my first solder iron a few days ago. I tried it today and I noticed that even before I have tried to do anything with it, it produces a steady flow of white fumes. I left it in the stand for some time before using it and as it continued to do this I turned it off. I googled tutorials on how to solder and looked at a few video clips online and I didn't see this happening with any other solder irons. I understand it's normal for fumes to be produced while the solder is in contact with the iron, but is it normal for it to fume by itself when it's just heating up? Is it safe to continue using this solder iron?
If it helps, this is the soldering iron that I have: **broken link removed**
Any help would be greatly appreciated! :)
Many thanks,
LittleMissElectronic

It will tend to smoke for a while when new, it's probably had some kind of coating on the bit that has to burn off. Personally I would recommend an Antex iron, rather than a cheap one, and get a temperature controlled one if you can afford it.

I'm presuming you're new to soldering?, and a temperature controlled iron will make it easier for you.

BTW, welcome to the forums, we need more beautiful young ladies in Electronics.

You could probably use steel wool or a wire brush to clean the Iron off