Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

solar tracker

Status
Not open for further replies.

PG1995

Hi

Is it a good idea to use both dual-axis solar tracker and MPPT for a solar panel to increase efficiency? The reason for asking this question is that perhaps when one uses a solar tracker, the use of an MPPT becomes optional. Please note that I'm new to this solar stuff. Please help me with it.

A comparator can respond to input signals that may differ by very small amounts and it means a comparator might keep on switching on and off. How to avoid this?

Regards
PG

Last edited:
I think having both it would take alot longer to pay for themselves.

Personally, I think MPPT is always a good idea, unless you are dealing with a very inexpensive system, like a solar powered electric fence or other small convenient power source.

With any kind of serious energy harvesting, MPPT can probably pay for itself fairly quickly. The major cost might be the development costs for hardware and algorithms, but if you use existing designs, the hardware construction cost and programming labor cost is reasonable.