Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Solar I-phone charger

Status
Not open for further replies.

wannabe

Im trying to make a solar charger for my iphone, (im an amateur with limited electrical knowledge)

I have already made the panels, i have 3 panels that produce 2.8v and 500mA each in bright sunlight, my problem is getting that power to the i phone without damaging the iphone, my first plan was to connect the three in series (8.4v) and use a voltage regulator (radio shacks 7805a +5vdc voltage regulator) and connect it to a usb connector. Will this work? if not what will? thanks for any help.

By "connect it to a USB connector" do you mean that you are wiring it so that it looks like the USB jack on you computer?

That should work. I made a 5V charger from an Ipod that way. I found some AC powered cell phone chargers that were rated at 5V dc, and I just connected that to a USB female.

Another idea: I found a bunch of 12VDC in to 5Vdc out automobile cell phone chargers that have a switching regulator inside. The chip inside the charger happily runs on an input voltage much less than 12V, so you could just feed your solar panel into one of those...

Thanks for the info, I'll try that schematic and the chip in the car chargers, thanks again

Last edited: