Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Solar Cell as Switch?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rrlsmontana

My son and I are working on a science fair project. Unfortunately, I'm a mechanical engineer with virtually no electronics savvy. We want to use a solar cell to turn on the power from a 6 volt DC power cell to a motor. Essentially I need a NO switch that closes when someone puts light on the solar cell. Is this something we could bread-board easily with components from Radio Shack?

Many Thanks!
Paul & Jon

this is usually done with a cadmium sulfate cell i think, try looking up circuits for that.

rrlsmontana said:
My son and I are working on a science fair project. Unfortunately, I'm a mechanical engineer with virtually no electronics savvy. We want to use a solar cell to turn on the power from a 6 volt DC power cell to a motor. Essentially I need a NO switch that closes when someone puts light on the solar cell. Is this something we could bread-board easily with components from Radio Shack?

Many Thanks!
Paul & Jon