Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Sol Guider using Solar tracker circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

rsfoto

Hi,

I have read this specific thread

https://www.electro-tech-online.com/threads/simple-solar-tracking-circuit.106625/

with great interest as I am an avid solar photographer using White light and Halpha filters in my Observatory.

My name is Rainer and I live in Mexico.

Now the presented circuit after having read a lot about other solar tracking circuits seems to satisfy my needs with the difference that instead of driving a motor I just need to pull down some TTL outputs to ground in order to activate what we call in astronomy an Auto Guide port of an Equatorial Telescope mount. Normally this ports have 1 common ground and 4 lines which when pulled down to ground activates a corresponding movement of the RA or DEC axis, be it forward or backward.

I am talking of German equatorial mounts where normally the only motor in movement is the RA motor following be it the Stars, Moon or Sun. For Autoduigin at night there are many solutions which work perfectly as one takes juts a star and the software calculates its center and when there is a deviation it actvates the corresponding movements.

I have tried similar solutions wioth the Sun building a Sol guider scope but the software is not able to digest the Suns intensity as a stars and it looses the center and so the Autoguding get crazy.