Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

so much info on working with LEDs, just needing a solution. help??

Status
Not open for further replies.

reurbo

yes, i am new to working with electronics at the circuit board level & to me, until recently, just about every electrical solution for wiring was solved by a simple logic of connecting positive to negative leads, things working, & me moving on to something else.

now, i'm working on a project where i need to learn more besides just watts & volts. i'm upgrading a single IR LED on a, for lack of a better comparison, single-button remote that only sends 1 signal every time the circuit is closed to three 5mm high output IR LEDs i picked up from Radio Shack after reading several good reviews on them.
the given info for the LEDs are as follows:
Forward Voltage: 1.2V
Forward current: 100mA
Radiant power output (100ma): 16mW min.
Viewing angle to 1/2 intensity: 45degrees
Wavelength: 940nm

my questions are:
1) i know i need a resistor to regulate the voltage & current for the LEDs but when i use any online LED calculator, i don't know if i need to multiply the Voltage & Current fields by 3 (how many LEDs i'm using) or just input what a single LED lists.

2) how do i, or rather what do i change in the LED calculators if i want to double or even triple the brightness & range of the IR LEDs?... do i increase the Voltage or Current values in the calculator?