Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Smart Grid *Discussion*

Status
Not open for further replies.

D.M.

I have searched the forum for topics related to SMART GRID and have found none, so I thought I might start a little discussion.

I have thought about this topic for some time now and have referenced information and came up with a few things to look at or monitor in the current system. I am only a student so my understanding of electronics is yet to be polished so these may not be major at all.

SMART GRID is not really a defined sector of electronics, its more of a concept or notion as of now but there are developing technologies that will bring this to reality soon enough.

To me the term SMART GRID implies realtime information of power use and control systems among the current grid relaying information to and from houses and substations etc... The current power distribution infrastructure is becoming "out dated" (should I say) and saturated and needs to be optimized not redone.