Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

single lane race timer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

stanfield

is there a way to build a simple circuit that will start a timer for a single lane boat race. I am a tech teacher and want to add time trials for the design of boats. they will be tested in a 6" pvc. basically lift a gate, start switch starts timer (display time) and when it hit the end stop the timer, reset and run again.

Make sense? I can buy one from Kelvin or other sources but can not spend the $$$$ for what I think should be very simple.

any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

What time scale do you want?

Examples:- 0 to 9.9 seconds?, 0 to 59 minutes? 0 to 9 hours?

Have you done a search in this forum for "timer" or "counter" there have been many posts on these.

Have you searched the internet? see for example www.discovercircuits.com

Post your results so we can assist if necessary. There is no point in us re-inventing the wheel for you.

Len

I have researched both timer and counter and have only come up with count down timers or delay timers, counters I have not found really anything.

I just searched for "stopwatch" and found a doc it only goes to 99. I need something that will go to say 5 min, some boats are really slow.

I attached the file it is a digital stopwatch schematic.

where would i add the triggers both start and stop? can I build this on a breadboard?

I am not an electronic master by any means.

thanks

Attachments

• digital_stopwatch_0_164.doc