Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Simplest PIC programmer

Status
Not open for further replies.

wmmullaney

Hi, I am kinda new to electronics. I was wondering if I could get help with the circuit on this page https://programmer-pic16f84.blogspot.com/

Where do the wires going into short bold lines connect to?:confused:

And what are "4k7" resistors?:confused:

william

:)

blueroomelectronics said:
Here's a link to the NOPPP the granddaddy of ancient PIC programmers.

No! :p

That's a relatively 'modern' PIC programmer, NOPPP isn't an early one - the father of home PIC programmers was David Tait, and almost all designs are based on his original works. NOPPP came years later, and was a crude attempt to reduce programmers to their bare minimum (regardless of compatibility with different machines).

wmmullaney said:
Ok, thanks. I was wondering if there was a serial port doubleras my serial port is already is use by my mouse.
Eh? Just how old is your computer? I haven't seen a serial mouse in many years.

Any computer that old should have two serial ports anyway.

If you're not stuck on the "simple" PIC programmer, I highly recommend one of Blueroom Electronics programmer kits. The Inchworm+ (ICD2 clone) or the Junebug (PICKit2 clone) are both excellent.

I own one of each and they're both very nice products. Now I spend my time programming and prototyping instead of fiddling with a finicky programmer.

You can buy the Inchworm+ kit at DipMicro Electronics.