Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

simple way to produce low frequency

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barmybaz

I am new to electronics, and would like to make a low frequency buzzer.
is it possible to wire a capacitor in series with a resister to produce a pulse that would drive a minature speaker
would this work? if its feasible, any advice about values would be much appreciated,

Barmy

With an AC source, yes (I mean an AC output adapter, not straight from the wall!). If you want to use a DC source you will need an active component, such as a 555 timer. It can be done with a single transistor and some passives. In general, if I'm not mistaken, passive components alone (resistors, inductors, and capacitors) cannot introduce new frequencies. They can only attenuate or shift them.

Mmmmm not as easy as I was hoping, but not insurmountable, it's for a portable project so would be need battery driven, don't really care
what frequency it is just can't use a high pitched scream,

Barmy

It will be cheaper to buy one than make one.

How low a F? And what kind of buzz?

Simplest is a tiny SPDT relay in series with coil in series with tiny speaker, and in series with NC contacts from 3V CR123 battery on a 5 V relay or 9V battery on a 12V relay. Just enough to make it buzzzzzzz... Speaker is optional as it makes a buzz on its own.

Thanks so much, I think you have found the answer, all I really needed was a noise,