Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Simple switch on/off signal trough USB?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have no direct experience with USB. However, check out "Wiznet" They appear to have some good products to get you started. It's on my list of things to do as well.

I have no direct experience with USB. However, check out "Wiznet" They appear to have some good products to get you started. It's on my list of things to do as well.

Wiznet is more of an internet page/uC gismo...This will do what the OP needs

What would be the best way to make a computer "aware" of a
switch state using usb?
I imagine I would have to use uC and maybe FTDI chip/cable.
So what is the best/simplest way to start?

Hi there,

Since you talk about FTDI chips lets start there if you dont mind.
A typical FTDI USB to serial port will give you a serial port connected to the USB. You can then read and write to that port the same way you would with a regular serial port, so it would be the more simple RS232 protocol.

If you wanted to go straight USB, you'd probably have to use a controller that is designed to work with USB and program it to read a port (your switch). You'd have to download representative code that interfaces with the USB and add your own code to service one or more ports. Note this second method is going to be a bit harder to achieve than the method above with the RS232.