Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Simple Project, little experience

Status
Not open for further replies.

Getrag

I am doing a basic project for someone I know and I'm looking for some tips for the electronics.
I'm new to microcontrollers, the only experience I have is using the "Handyboard" for a
mechatronics project while doing mechanical engineering in school.
The program I would prefer to use is C.

The project is basicaly i will have a motor running a device (it will be powered separatly using motor speed controller) and i'll need 2 or 3 optical interrupt sensors counting when they are tripped. when they reach a certain number I want it to shut off a switch that is inline from the motor speed controller to the motor itself.
I would like to power the microcontroller with just a 6-12V dc converter that i can plug in.

Would something like the AVR butterfly work well for this?

Any help would be greatly appreciated

How will the microcontroller control the motor?
How often will the interrupt be and how long will the signal be present?
What else will it have to do?

Mike.

You could certainly use a PIC.

It sounds like the actual programming will be quite simple. As you haven't programmed a microcontroller before, most of the work will be working out how they function, and a lot of the cost will be a programmer. The PICkit3 is about $35

How will the microcontroller control the motor?
How often will the interrupt be and how long will the signal be present?