Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Simple PCB software for non-engineers?

Status
Not open for further replies.

London

I'm sure this has been asked a million times. I tried Googling, but wasn't really coming up with anything.

I'm not an engineer. I have a simple project where I'm really just following schematics published in datasheets so I shouldn't get myself in too much trouble. I have everything figured out but when I go to get a quote for PCB manufacture and assembly, they need Gerber files.

I tried a few packages that I found by Google. First was "Express-PCB" but then I realized quickly that's just for that one PCB house and doesn't produce the files I need to shop it around. I found FreePCB but I don't get it :(

Is there anything where I can just pick the parts, position them on the board, and sort of hit "go"?

Probably not, but thought I'd ask. Thanks.

Steve

Not really. PCB Express is by far the most straightforward to use. Beyond that you're pretty much limited by price which leaves Eagle Lite one of the only free, general purpose ones. But that does not mean its easy to use. It's learning curve at least on par with the rest (I find it quite a bit more ackward but I'm used to other software).

Last edited:
Thanks. No sooner did I post this, then I realized that FreePCB has a manual :)

I'm slowly working my way through it.