Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Simple ON/OFF circuit problems??

Status
Not open for further replies.

captainate

Hi all,

I apologize in advance for my ineptitude, and with that said:

I am a guitarist who decided it would be nice to have a power switch for my custom-made pedalboard. I have a 9v AC/DC adapter rated at 1700 mA max that can power up to 8 pedals with 9v DC current. I thought it would be simple enough to build my own circuit, so I tried and failed. I cannot understand why. If it's not too much trouble, can someone attempt to troubleshoot this circuit?

Attachments

• circuit.jpg
    circuit.jpg
    56.5 KB · Views: 183
That drawing shows that you've shorted out the resistor and LED. It also doesn't show where the other end of the battery goes or where the grounds end up.

Here's where my ineptitude will show... I thought what you call a "short" was an LED circuit wired in "parallel".

I should also be clear about the "IN" and "OUT" section... "IN" comes from the wall AC adapter, out goes to a 9V DC jack to feed the pedals. Thanks,

~Nate