Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Simple AM transmitter

Status
Not open for further replies.

George L.

hello,

I am trying to make a VERY simple AM transmitter that will transmit a signal (push a botton and hear a beep) :wink: . I would like the transmitter to reach up to 10 meters (across a room).

I have attached a circuit that I though was suitible for this purpose. I am a newbie ... so I would really appreciate it if someone could tell me if the circuit will work ... and if it will reach about 10 meters.

Please help :D :D :D

Thanks,

George

Attachments

• radio_1.gif
    radio_1.gif
    7.2 KB · Views: 11,646
Hi George,
A radio transmitter needs an RF oscillator. You sketched what might be a tuned RF amplifier, if the transistor wasn't turned-on so hard that it is saturated all the time.

You can change the transistor circuit and make it an RF oscillator by adding feedback. Look-up a Hartley or Colpitts oscillator.

You can fix the transistor circuit by reducing the value of its emitter resistor, so most of the supply voltage won't be wasted across it.
You can stop the transistor from being saturated by looking-up its current gain on its datasheet, and increasing the value of the base resistor accordingly.

Then you will have an RF transmitter that will transmit a carrier at the frequency of its tuned coil and capacitor. It won't make an amplitude-modulated beep until you capacitive-couple an audio-frequency tone oscillator to its base. :lol: