Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Simple 7W RMS Audio Amplifier Recommendations?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheGuy

Hi all,

I've been looking into how to make a simple amplifier for a laptop speaker system, as I can't find a kit (yes, I'm a newbie) that would suit my needs.

I need to build an amplifier that can supply roughly 5-7W per channel, and can run off my laptop's 19V power brick. It'll be 2.1, as the system has got a bass speaker to fill in the low range, which makes things a little bit more complicated (to my eyes, anyway).

My idea was to have a stereo amp power the mid/tweeters, and have that signal also mixed down into mono (see below) and going into another amplifier (this one mono, and more powerful) for the bass speaker.

Obviously, the bass speaker needs to have only low frequencies pass through (as well as being mixed). I'll be doing this by using a simple (and probably inefficient) way:

Code:
left channel from stereo amp-----\/\/\/\----
                                   1k       |
                                            |-------------------- positive to mono amp
                                            |         |+
right channel from stereo amp----\/\/\/\----        10uF
                                   1k                 |-
                                                      |
                         ground --------------------------------- ground