Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Signals

Status
Not open for further replies.

lecto

Could d.c be counted as a signal? I'm new at electronics and I have this question in front of me, Which one of the following signals is in common use in electronics.
1)Continuous d.c ,2) Frequency modulated ,3)Constant amplitude a.c, 4)Interrupted a.c , I strongly suspect the last two cannot be the answer, but I'm getting mix up with the first two though.

Could d.c be counted as a signal? I'm new at electronics and I have this question in front of me, Which one of the following signals is in common use in electronics.
1)Continuous d.c ,2) Frequency modulated ,3)Constant amplitude a.c, 4)Interrupted a.c , I strongly suspect the last two cannot be the answer, but I'm getting mix up with the first two though.

hi,
Noun1.**broken link removed**electronic signal - a signal generated by electronic means

FM is just a 'description' of a type of signal....

If a signal is defined as transmitting information, then continuous DC and constant amplitude AC are not signals. The other two are signals by this definition.

(3) is tough. It can transmit frequency info. Two such signals can transmit phase. In context, I'd have to say it isn't. I would argue and might win, but its probably not the expected answer. Bad question.

This is a ridiculous question.

Which one of the following signals is in common use in electronics.

1)Continuous d.c