Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

signal tremolo effect (audio)

Status
Not open for further replies.

transcendent12

Alright, let it be known that this be my first own initiative electronics project. I'm not well versed in practical circuit design, though I am studying electronic engineering. I'm trying to apply some basic knowledge to make something ...well.. basic.

Idea is to make a guitar tremolo effect pedal, all this does is take the signal from the guitar and then amplitude mix it with sine/triangle/square waves to give not a pitch waver but amplitude waver. I don't have much idea how current effects pedals do this.

Here are my initial thoughts. Basically I'd be grateful to just nail down some basic accepted ideas and begin to make a start.

1) What's the best way to take a signal and modify it's amplitude? Initially I thought I could have an old school IC wave form generator working as a local oscillator then mixing it with the input signal. The frequencies would be pretty low in region of 0.1Hz to like 30Hz is all that is needed for a guitar tremelo. My hope would be that the local oscillator would be centred around zero but with adjustable offset. So the depth of the tremolo could be altered. i.e. so it doesn't necessarily have zero periods when sine wave passes 0V.