Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

signal generator with very low rise and fall times

Status
Not open for further replies.

Snorri

Hi Forum,

I'm a physicist at an Austrian University, and would greatly appreciate your help with a circuit I planed (shown in "Fig. 1 - circuit") - especially with one component where I'm not sure how to integrate it.

What I need is a signal generator that supplies a relatively high capacity (~200 V at ~1 A), while having as low rise and fall times as possible. Therefore I want to use an IXYS IXZ4DF12N100 (https://www.electro-tech-online.com/custompdfs/2010/04/ixz4df12n100.pdf) as a driver and MOSFET combination.

Now my questions:
1. Will the output of the ADUM correctly switch my IXYS?
2. How important is the coil prior to IN-VCC? (data-sheet --> Fig. 15)
3. How important are all the electrolytic capacitors? (data-sheet --> Fig. 15)
4. May I leave IN-GND unconnected, or do I really have to connect it with ground over a choke coil? It is internally connected with DGND anyway.

Is there anything else I could improve?

Kind regards,
Snorri

Last edited:
At what frequency are you driving your load?

At what Amplitude?

Last edited:
Hello Snorri, I am located in Melbourne.

We need to design this from the load backwards.

First question, what is the nature of the load ?
Is it predominantly resistive, capacitive or inductive ?

Any power driver stage needs to be designed to suit the required characteristics of the load, so that is where we need to begin.