Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Short circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

hrickards

Hi,

I'm new to electronics and earlier today I attempted to build my own diode logic OR gate. I have two AA batteries in series powering my breadboard, with the conncection between the two AA battery holders taking place in a spare part of the breadboard. I thought I'd build everything correctly, so connected the power. Nothing happened, but I realised I missed the connection between the two diodes and the output. I removed the live and neutral (red and black, I may be getting the names wrong) wires from the power rails of the breadboard and started to get the right size jumper out to add the missing correction. While I was doing this I started to smell burning, and noticed that the two wires I had just removed were touching each other and creating a tiny amount of smoke, creating a short circuit, like the following.
Battery A => Battery A live => Battery B neutral => Battery B => Battery B Live => Battery A Neutral => Battery A

I quickly removed the two touching wires, and disconnected the battery holders. The whole thing must have only been about 10 seconds.

Where the two ends were touching, part of the red plastic has been burned off, partly onto the black plastic.