Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Sharp Combi Microwave and Strange Diode

Status
Not open for further replies.

Crabber

Hi,

I have a combination type Sharp microwave however the microwave function has failed.

I'm new to electronics but have read elsewhere on this forum about a popular fault with Sharp microwaves being a strange protective 'diode' that is positioned across the terminals of the large capacitor together with a second tradionally labelled diode (HVR-1X7) which is connected positive side to one side of the capacitor with the negative side to earth. The strange 'diode' is marked as if it is actually comprised of 2 diodes connected together negative to negative and is labelled 2X062H.

The tradional diode has been tested and appears to work correctly i.e. 7.5v across it when connected to a 12v supply with 220Ω resistor in series.

I have purchased and fitted a replacement 2X062H diode but the microwave still doesn't work. This diode however gives different test results to the original part which behaves under test as a tradional diode i.e. 5.5v across it when connected as above. The replacement 'diode' shows 12.4v in both directions when tested as above as do the 3 other spares I have bought.

How do these diodes work and any suggestions as to the problem with my microwave?

Kind regards,

John