Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Setup to test a filter

Status
Not open for further replies.

atferrari

Most Helpful Member
I have never done this before.

Today I started to test the state variable filter in the attached circuit.

My setup is just a (brand new) function generator sweeping from 30 Hz up to 30 KHz, 1 V pk-pk - 0 offset. Output impedance set to 50 ohms and signal applied to R7 which not yet connected to the preamp.

Soon I realized that I needed to trigger the scope (generator's 2nd channel, delivering pulse with the same period of the sweeping).

Basically I get a response that barely looks what I could expect for HP, BP and LP (albeit irregular and asymetric) but I cannot find anything that I could call a notch.

Op amps polarization checks as +4,4V, in case you ask.

Eventually I could take some pictures tomorrow.

My questions: am I doing right?

How to measure fc? I suspect there is an obvious way but I cannot think of any right now. I have no markers available.

Comments and suggestions will be aprreciated.

Attachments

• Directional microphone.pdf
    23 KB · Views: 109
My setup is just a (brand new) function generator sweeping from 30 Hz up to 30 KHz, 1 V pk-pk - 0 offset. Output impedance set to 50 ohms and signal applied to R7 which not yet connected to the preamp.
R7 ?
Do you mean R8 ?

1V should be OK, as long as you are not overdriving the filter.