Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Sensor needed to measure speed of small dc motor - underwater.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charlie J

I am looking for an appropriate sensor to create a signal pulse, from which a fairly accurate speed measurement can be obtained (via LabVIEW). I have no experience using such sensors, so any advice/suggestions welcome. I am aware of optical, proximity and magnetic sensors, but never used any. The sensor is to be used to measure the (shaft/propellor) speed
of a 12V (1100GPH) dc motor,which will be operating UNDERWATER.

Ideally the sensor needs to be small (to effect the operation of the motor as little as possibe), relatively inexpensive and easily acquired.

Charlie J,

First off, I hate putting electronics in water. Especially sea water.

That said, how accurate does the speed data need to be?

Since the pump no doubt has a data sheet describing the flow rate at a prescribed DC current rate, you can monitor the current (Amps) the pump is using to extrapolate, quite accurately with the appropriate math, the flow volume.

If the power source for the pump is external (above water), then this could be done without submerging the sensor. It can be done with a extremely simple circuit (a resistor) that senses the current flow to the motor which could then be supplied, through an A/D converter, to LabVIEW. I can provide a schematic, if you like.