Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Sense rf frequency and power

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lantz

Greetings all,

I looking for a few pointers on a small rf hobby project I've been thinking about. I've got zero experience with analog circuits, I've only ever done some basic digital stuff. So there's alot of things I'm gonna need to learn.

Basically, what I want to do is to receive a short vhf pulse using a simple loop antenna (as small as possible), and sense received power and frequency. I'm not going to be receiving any data, and it doesn't need to be all that sensitive, as I'm only looking for a limited range (of course this depends on the transmitters as well).

What would be the simplest and cheapest way of doing this? I've been thinking of using a range from lets say 130 to 250 MHz. Where do I start? Frequency-to-voltage converters? How would I sense the AC current?

Also, what kind of currents/voltages can I expect to get from a small loop antenna? Are we talking mV, nV?

I'm sure it shows I'm new to this! Any pointers in the right direction would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Lantz

Hello Lantz.
Your receiving antenna signal strenght/amplitude should be measured with an RF voltmeter/proper oscilloscope and the power calculated from the antenna impedance, not measuring current.
Power measurements may be more accurately done at the transmitting end than at receiving.