Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

schottky diodes in series

Status
Not open for further replies.

drewc

If I put 2 schottky diodes in series (1n5822) will I have an increase in the current from 3A to 6A and will the voltage forward increase from 0.52v to 1.04v?? I require to have a voltage cutoff of 0.9volts at 3A and was hoping this would do the trick. I am a novice so please forgive my ignorance.

The Vf will double for a particular current.
The current of components of any type put in series is the same. If you put 3A through the string, 3A goes through each diode. Thus 2 3A diodes in series can handle a max of 3A.

Vf of a Schottky varies from about 0.3v at low currents to about 1v at its max current.

The voltage drop should be one diodes drop + the other ones in series, so yes, if they are 0.52v each, the total is 1.04v. However, the current rating does not doube in series, it doubles in parallel. However, if the voltage drop is even slightly different between the diodes, one diode will conduct all the current and will probably burn out. The options to fix this are using low value resistors on each one to share current, or to use a larger 6A rated diode (which is better).

Can you give more details? In my opinion, it's strange that you want to have a 0.9 V drop exactly... isn't that the maximum value you can accept @ 3A?

Last edited: