Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Schematic Review - Flyback Diode to protect Reed switch from Relay Coil

Status
Not open for further replies.

randallamoore

I'm new to designing circuits, and have some very basic questions.

I've designed a pcb to light a sign when a door is closed. I've used an alarm sensor reed switch in the door, which can handle up to 300 milliamps at 30 volts.

When the door is open, the NC leg of the relay sends current to a Green led. So you know the system is on, and the door is open.

When the reed switch closes it energizes the coil in the relay, and the Red led lights up.
It worked fine for awhile, then stuck on Red - the reed switch was stuck closed.

A little googling has led me to believe I need a flyback diode across the relay coil to prevent it from emitting a burst of excess voltage when the coil is switched off. The diagram below shows my circuit.

1. Will the Schottky Diode in my design protect the Reed switch? It looks to me like it will prevent excess current from traveling down the ground path and damaging the LEDs.

2. Does it matter that the reed switch in on the Positive path of the circuit? Yeah, I'm that ignorant. I assume it makes no difference. But I saw a circuit while researching that had the reed switch on the negative leg.

3. Would it make sense to add a diode between the reed switch and the relay? It seems to me that would definitively stop any current from passing back to the reed switch and damaging it.