Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

saturated operational amplifier

Status
Not open for further replies.

picozero

Hi all!
This is my first post so, sorry if I would not be proficient in discussing electronics

I am stuck in a practical experiment, I studied how amplifier for obtaining gain work. And I created a small circuit with an astable multivibrator, and operational, 2 resistors, two batteries of 9v:
Something like this:
**broken link removed**

Where the settings are :
non inverting input.
Rf = 300 K, Rg=150K
And the expected gain should be : Av= 1 + Rf/Rg = 3.
Doing a simulation I obtain reasonable results.
Where the output in volts of the operational is effectively augmented.
But when I build the real circuit it doesn't happen:
The oscillator generates a square wave that I can detect with
oscilloscope and even with a tester (between -4.80v +4.80v ), the output of the amplifier is instead stuck to 7.8v.
I have done this with a LM741, and also using a LM386 (one with
single supply) and nothing.
The crazy thing is that I obtain constant 7.8 v independently from the value of the feedback resistors (like they don't matter) and even if I completely disconnect the input.
So, it is like if whatever I do with this configuration
**broken link removed**
the amplifier saturates to 7.8v and end of the story.
I also tried the inverting input configuration and nothing.