Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Safety Tips when using Hot Air Rework Station??

Status
Not open for further replies.

alphaai

Hello,

I'm a newbie and just bought a Aoyue 968 rework station and not used yet as I dont want to burn my desk that it sits on. What can I put underneath my pcb that I reworking to avoid burning my wooden desk.

Ive currently got a bantex plastic see through desk mat for my notes so I guess that would have to be moved. Thanks, Look forward to your responses.

Ben

El-cheapo solution would be some heavy-duty aluminum foil. If you don't mind the weight, a piece of 1/4" cement board would work ok. A piece of 1/8" sheet steel would work good.

My sister works in the flooring tile industry and gives me large ceramic tiles that are seconds. Great stuff and can be easily had for cheap at any home improvement store. Even a 12" X 12" makes a good work surface.

Ron

I suggest something that insulates, as the metal will tend to absorb a lot of heat from the work, cooling the work and staying hot for ages afterwards.

A wood surface will be marked by a hot air gun, not to any depth. I just use an old magazine under the work, but a sheet of plywood would be good and would last for years.

Rothenberger Plumber's Soldering Mat | Screwfix.com would be very good.